Concert archive
Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Try out the Digital Concert Hall

Watch a free full-length concert of Sir Simon Rattle conducting symphonies by Ludwig van Beethoven.

Watch concert for free

Available soon:

Simon Rattle and Elīna Garanča at the Baden-Baden Easter Festival

Go to concert

European Concert from Bayreuth with Paavo Järvi and Eva-Maria Westbroek

Go to concert

Mikko Franck conducts Schumann’s “Paradise and the Peri”

Go to concert

Tugan Sokhiev conducts “Pictures at an Exhibition”

Go to concert

Our latest 6 concerts:

  • Paavo Järvi and Lisa Batiashvili with Sibelius’s Violin Concerto

    Paavo Järvi and Lisa Batiashvili with Sibelius’s Violin Concerto

    Photo: Monika Rittershaus

    “The first notes of Jean Sibelius’ Violin Concerto rarely shine simultaneously as clearly and as focused as with Lisa Batiashvili,” was what Bayerischer Rundfunk said in its review. The Georgian violinist, who in this concert stands in for the indisposed Janine Jansen, presents the darkly timbred work, whose free, rhapsodic form requires most creative of skills. Paavo Järvi also conducts Shostakovich’s Sixth Symphony, which reflects the horrors of the Stalin era with brooding resignation and grotesque savagery.

    06 May 2018

    Berliner Philharmoniker
    Paavo Järvi

    Lisa Batiashvili

    • Jean Sibelius
      Night Ride and Sunrise, Symphonic Poem, op. 55

    • Jean Sibelius
      Violin Concerto in D minor, op. 47

      Lisa Batiashvili violin

    • Dmitri Shostakovich
      Symphony No. 6 in B minor, op. 54

    • free

      Paavo Järvi in conversation with Emmanuel Pahud

    Paavo Järvi and Lisa Batiashvili with Sibelius’s Violin Concerto Go to concert
  • Alan Gilbert and Wenzel Fuchs with Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto

    Alan Gilbert and Wenzel Fuchs with Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto

    Mozart was a great fan of the then still new clarinet. He composed a splendid concerto, his last work in that genre, for this instrument, whose tone closely resembles the sound of the human voice. The performers in this concert are Alan Gilbert and the Berliner Philharmoniker’s principal clarinet Wenzel Fuchs. The programme also includes Thomas Ades’s highly original Three Studies from Couperin and Debussy’s shimmering Images pour orchestra.

    27 Apr 2018

    Berliner Philharmoniker
    Alan Gilbert

    Wenzel Fuchs

    • Thomas Adès
      Three Studies from Couperin

    • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
      Concerto for Clarinet and Orchestra in A major, K. 622

      Wenzel Fuchs clarinet

    • Claude Debussy
      Images pour orchestre

    • free

      Wenzel Fuchs in conversation with Daishin Kashimoto

    Alan Gilbert and Wenzel Fuchs with Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto Go to concert
  • A Mozart evening with Daniel Harding

    A Mozart evening with Daniel Harding

    Mozart’s C minor Mass is one of the most beautiful works of sacred music ever composed. Choruses of archaic power strikingly alternate with graceful solos, which are perhaps so inspired because Mozart wrote one of the soprano parts for his wife Constanze. Conductor Daniel Harding devotes the rest of the concert to the secular Mozart with the brief, exuberant Symphony No. 32 and two expressive concert arias.

    21 Apr 2018

    Berliner Philharmoniker
    Daniel Harding

    Andrew Staples, Georg Zeppenfeld, Lucy Crowe, Olivia Vermeulen

    • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
      Symphony No. 32 in G major, K. 318

    • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
      Misero! O sognoAura, che intorno spiri, Recitative and Aria for Tenor and Orchestra, K. 431

      Andrew Staples tenor

    • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
      Per questa bella mano, Aria for Bass, Double Bass obbligato and Orchestra, K. 612

      Georg Zeppenfeld bass

    • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
      Mass in C minor, K. 427

      Lucy Crowe soprano, Olivia Vermeulen mezzo-soprano, Andrew Staples tenor, Georg Zeppenfeld bass, Swedish Radio Choir, Sam Evans chorus master

    • free

      Daniel Harding in conversation with Noah Bendix-Balgley

    A Mozart evening with Daniel Harding Go to concert
  • Kirill Petrenko and Yuja Wang

    Kirill Petrenko and Yuja Wang

    Photo: Monika Rittershaus

    Kirill Petrenko, chief conductor designate of the Berliner Philharmoniker, presents two sonorous rarities: Paul Dukas’s iridescent tone poem La Péri and Franz Schmidt’s Fourth Symphony. The latter is a gently flowing work in the tradition of Anton Bruckner with a powerful funeral march as the highlight. Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 3, on the other hand, played here by Yuja Wang, is a cheerful and virtuoso work.

    13 Apr 2018

    Berliner Philharmoniker
    Kirill Petrenko

    Yuja Wang

    • Paul Dukas
      La Péri, Poème dansé

    • Sergei Prokofiev
      Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 3 in C major, op. 26

      Yuja Wang piano

    • Franz Schmidt
      Symphony No. 4 in C major

    • free

      Yuja Wang in conversation with Andreas Ottensamer

    • free

      Kirill Petrenko in conversation with Knut Weber

    Kirill Petrenko and Yuja Wang Go to concert
  • Britten’s “War Requiem” with the National Youth Orchestra of Germany

    Britten’s “War Requiem” with the National Youth Orchestra of Germany

    The National Youth Orchestra of Germany, whose patron the Berliner Philharmoniker became in 2013, consists of highly gifted young musicians between the ages of 14 and 19. In this concert, the orchestra, together with the Orchestre Français des Jeunes, presents Benjamin Britten’s War Requiem – a powerful, poignant plea for international understanding which in this performance is expressed by soloists and choirs from Germany, England, France, Poland and Belgium.

    10 Apr 2018

    Thomas Neuhoff

    • free

      Benjamin Britten
      War Requiem for Soloists, large Choir, Children’s Choir, large Orchestra and Chamber Orchestra

      Banu Böke soprano, James Gilchrist tenor, Erik Sohn baritone, Orchestre Français des Jeunes, Chor des Bach-Vereins Köln e.V., Polski Narodowy Chór Młodzieżowy, Agnieszka Franków-Żelazny chorus master, Coventry Cathedral Girls’ Choir, Kerry Beaumont chorus master, Les Pastoureaux, Philippe Favette chorus master, Jugendchor der Lukaskirche Bonn, Thomas Neuhoff chorus master, Daniel Spaw

    Britten’s “War Requiem” with the National Youth Orchestra of Germany Go to concert
  • Simon Rattle conducts “Parsifal”

    Simon Rattle conducts “Parsifal”

    Photo: Monika Rittershaus

    Richard Wagner called his Parsifal a “A Festival Play for the Consecration of the Stage”, and in fact the term opera would be quite inappropriate. It does not deal with intrigues or romantic entanglements but with Wagner’s central metaphysical preoccupation of redemption, for which he wrote scintillating, intoxicating music of incomparable allure. Simon Rattle conducts the work with an outstanding cast of singers, including Stuart Skelton and Nina Stemme.

    08 Apr 2018

    Berliner Philharmoniker
    Sir Simon Rattle

    Stuart Skelton, Nina Stemme, Franz-Josef Selig, Evgeny Nikitin, Reinhard Hagen, Gerald Finley

    • Richard Wagner

      Stuart Skelton tenor (Parsifal), Nina Stemme soprano (Kundry), Franz-Josef Selig bass baritone (Gurnemanz), Evgeny Nikitin bass baritone (Klingsor), Reinhard Hagen bass (Titurel), Gerald Finley bass baritone (Amfortas), Iwona Sobotka soprano (Flowermaiden), Kiandra Howarth soprano (Flowermaiden), Elisabeth Jansson mezzo-soprano (Flowermaiden), Mari Eriksmoen soprano (Flowermaiden), Ingeborg Gillebo mezzo-soprano (Flowermaiden), Kismara Pessatti mezzo-soprano (Flowermaiden), Neal Cooper tenor (Esquire 3, Grail Knight 1), Guido Jentjens bass (Grail Knight 2), Iurie Ciobanu tenor (Esquire 4), Rundfunkchor Berlin, Simon Halsey chorus master

    • free

      Sir Simon Rattle in conversation with Sarah Willis

    Simon Rattle conducts “Parsifal” Go to concert